Winner Takes it All – Joey Niceforo

February 20th, 2018 § Comments Off on Winner Takes it All – Joey Niceforo § permalink

Enjoy this first song and video from Joey’s new album that I co-produced in Canada and in London at Abbey Road Studios. Steve Sidwell wrote the brilliant arrangements and conducts the orchestra. I was standing fifteen feet away, in awe!

“Winner Takes it All” – Joey Niceforo

Never Let Us Go – Jones & Dwyer

January 17th, 2018 § Comments Off on Never Let Us Go – Jones & Dwyer § permalink

This is my song, “Never Let Us Go”. It was re-mixed with my brother, guest artist and “Loop-Meister” Mark Dwyer, in 1992, in Hammerwood, East Sussex.
Mark and I created many of the loops that were used on Duran Duran’s Wedding album. I loved going to the club on Saturday night after an afternoon tweaking at the farm!

Jones & Dwyer – London 1993

All Recording and Instruments by J. Jones & M. Dwyer.
Produced by John Jones & Mark Dwyer.
Written by J. Jones ©1992 John Jones Music.

Science in Action – AIR STUDIOS – John Jones Interview

November 26th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Here is the long lost episode of the BBC’s “Science in Action” program from 1987. In this segment we discuss the Fairlight CMI Series III in Studio 5 at AIR Studios Oxford Street, and I show how to sample using a Casio sampler.
We sold the Series III to J. J. Jeczalik of the Art of Noise a few weeks after taping…

Music in the AIR (studios)

November 10th, 2017 § Comments Off on Music in the AIR (studios) § permalink

Here is a decent article about Sir George Martin and AIR Studios history, printed during George’s In My Life tour.

From the April 11, 1998 edition of Billboard magazine.

Happy Birthday Dee!

October 17th, 2017 § Comments Off on Happy Birthday Dee! § permalink

A special E.S.P. Rainbow for Dee!

A special E.S.P. Rainbow for Dee!

Magentalane by Klaatu was recorded at E.S.P. Studios, Buttonville.

Burning the Ground – Duran Duran

September 3rd, 2017 § Comments Off on Burning the Ground – Duran Duran § permalink

And when this plays, I think about the awesome fun we had doing it.
Dee Long sampled the parts at AIR Studios, Oxford Street.
We jammed them into this song, and Chris Potter mixed it, at Olympic Studio in Barnes.

Too Much Information! Duran Duran

September 3rd, 2017 § Comments Off on Too Much Information! Duran Duran § permalink

From the Duran Duran “Wedding album”. The first single. Warren magnificent! Steve Ferrone on drums! Produced by DD and JJ!

Bill Price – AIR Studios

December 23rd, 2016 § Comments Off on Bill Price – AIR Studios § permalink

The great English recording engineer, mixer, producer, studio manager, designer and builder, Bill Price, has passed away after a long illness.

Bill Price

Bill Price

Bill was AIR Studio, Oxford Street’s, chief engineer, from their opening in 1970, until he took over at Wessex Studio, in 1976. He began his career at Decca in the mid 1960’s. Bill, recorded, mixed, and or produced, many of my favorite recordings, including  Without You, by Harry Nilsson, London’s Calling, by The Clash, and the AIR recorded Live and Let Die, by Paul McCartney.

As a staff engineer at Decca’s West Hampstead studios in the mid-’60s, Price recorded a string of worldwide hits for Tom Jones and Engelbert Humperdinck, and has been consistently associated with quality recordings and commercial success ever since. Tapped by George Martin and his partners for the position of chief engineer at the new AIR Studios facility in London’s West End, Price went on to revive Wessex Studios in the mid-’70s and recorded several of the most influential records of the decade, including albums by the Sex Pistols, The Clash and The Pretenders. In the ’80s, Price worked with Pete Townshend, Elton John, the Jesus and Mary Chain and Big Audio Dynamite, among others, and the ’90s found him producing The Waterboys and mixing for the Stone Roses, The Cult, Robert Plant and Guns N’ Roses.”

from mixonline interview 2000

Bill also worked on David Bowie’s first album, Nilsson Schmilsson, Badfinger, Wings, Average White Band, Climax Blues Band, Mott the Hoople, Sex Pistols, Elton John, Pretenders, The Cult, Guns n Roses, Big Audio Dynamite, The Stone Roses, John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers, and many more!

1970's AIR Studios advert

1970’s AIR Studios advert with Bill Price at the Neve.

I met Bill in the late 1980’s, at AIR Studios, where he was often working in studio 1 with Chris Thomas.

Bill recorded Charlie Morgan on drums, in studio 1, for our AKAI  AIR Sessions, that Dee Long and I produced in 1987, for the AKAI S1000 sampler library.

Part 1 of the BILL PRICE Interview from mixonline

Part 2 of the BILL PRICE interview from mixonline


Duran Duran Get ASCAP Award!

November 13th, 2016 § Comments Off on Duran Duran Get ASCAP Award! § permalink

This week in London, Duran Duran were awarded the prestigious Golden Note by ASCAP.

Sir George Martin APRS Luncheon

November 10th, 2016 § Comments Off on Sir George Martin APRS Luncheon § permalink

I had an emotional, amazing, and fantastic, week in London, for the Sir George Martin APRS luncheon in Kensington. Faces from the past were in full attendance! It was a beautiful lunch, hosted by Paul Gambaccini, that was followed by a warm evening, across the street, at the Prince of Wales pub, and finally at a late night restaurant with many 214 Oxford street AIR Studios friends in attendance. Yes Dave Harries, Malcolm and I had the traditional AIR Studios “American” margarita’s in your honour!

APRS celebrates the life of Sir George Martin











Where Am I?

You are currently browsing the U.K. category at john jones planet log.